Titi Nzamba Bolele, and her three children spent nearly three weeks in Yarl’s Wood detention Centre after a UK Border Agency snatch squad conducted a dawn raid on their home in Adamsdown and unsuccessfully attempted to deport them to the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) – universally accepted as a war zone.

Thankfully they are now all back in Cardiff, although sadly there is still the threat of deportation hanging over her and many other people from the DRC. But as she says, Titi is going to fight to stay at home:

“I heard this ‘boom, boom, boom’ on the door, I looked out the window and there were two vans and about 10 people. They shouted at me to come down. When I opened the door they grabbed me and put me in the living room and told me I was under arrest. It was all very confusing and I didn’t really understand what was happening. I was so scared. Before we were taken on the plane, the men handcuffed me but I started shouting that I wouldn’t go. It was then that two of the men grabbed me by my hands and feet and another one helped to carry me onto the plane. My children started to scream and cry and I was screaming. We were all so scared. Then the pilot told them to take us off. I cannot go back there, it isn’t safe. I will continue to fight my case to stay in Cardiff. We have made a life here. The children love St Peter’s RC School. They are so happy and have settled in well.”

